NIHR | Manchester Biomedical Research Centre

Manchester researchers’ national impact recognised in Clinical Excellence Awards

A group of leading Manchester BRC clinician scientists have received national Clinical Excellence Awards in the recently announced 2018 round of awards.

Clinical Excellence Awards winners 2018


Eight NHS consultants, across five of the seven BRC research themes (MSK, dermatology, hearing health, cancer and respiratory), were recognised for their performance ‘over and above’ the standard expected of their role.

To be considered for an award, applicants must be able to demonstrate clinical excellence and achievements in the areas of: developing and delivering high quality services, leadership, research, innovation and teaching and training.



An independent Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA) operates this highly competitive awards scheme, and advises the Department of Health and Social Care on the granting of new awards.

Only 300 awards are available every year covering bronze, silver, gold and platinum levels and all medical specialties.

New awards were made to the following Manchester BRC researchers, who are all University of Manchester academics:

Clinical Excellence Award winners 2018, clockwise frm top-left, Bill Newman, Kimme Hyrich, Gareth Evans, Ariane Herrick

MSK theme:

  • Professor Kimme Hyrich – Bronze award/Medicine
  • Professor Ariane Herrick – Silver award/Medicine

See here for feedback provided about Professors Hyrich and Herrick.

Dermatology theme:

  • Professor Richard Warren – Bronze award/Medicine

Respiratory theme:

  • Professor Paul Dark – Bronze award/Critical Care Medicine
  • Professor  Jørgen Vestbo – Bronze award/Medicine

Cancer (Advanced Radiotherapy) theme:

  • Professor Corinne Faivre-Finn – Gold award/Clinical Oncology

Cancer (Prevention and Early Detection) theme:

  • Professor Gareth Evans – Gold award / Medicine

Hearing Health and Cancer (Prevention & Early Detection) themes:

  • Professor William Newman – Silver award/Medicine

Professor Ian Bruce, Director of Manchester BRC, said:

The ACCEA recognises and rewards those clinicians who perform at the highest level, with national and international impact. Research leadership and how research contributes to improving patient care is considered in the review of applications. These awards endorse the quality of work being undertaken in the Manchester BRC. They are richly deserved and I extend my congratulations to these colleagues.